Cisco introduces Cybersecurity Specialist Certification

Cisco announced last week the launch of the Cybersecurity Specialist Certification. It is in line with the current trend of increasing cyber security in a constantly evolving and changing cyberspace.
This certification is for specialists who have demonstrated knowledge and expertise in the essential areas that are involved in proactive cyber-threat mitigation and detection.
Cisco Cybersecurity Specialist Certification is for security analysts. It focuses on event monitoring, security events, and incident response.
Candidates must hold a valid Cisco CCNA Security certification or any Cisco CCIE certificate to be eligible for this certification. They must be able to use basic Cisco IOS(r), Software switch, and have solid router configuration skills.
Candidates must meet the prerequisites and pass the 600-199 exam (SCYBER) – Securing Cisco Networks With Threat Detection And Analysis.
This exam is 1.5 hours long and contains 50-60 questions. This exam tests candidates’ ability to detect and mitigate security threats to networks by using features found in Cisco and other industry-related network security products. This exam covers the essential areas of competency, including incident response, security event/alarm/traffic analyses, and event monitoring.
Cisco lists 600-199 exam topics as follows:
Information Gathering and Security Foundations
Event Monitoring
Security Events and Alarms
Traffic Analysis, Collection, & Correlation
Incident Response
Operational Communications
The exam is closed-book and there are no outside reference materials. However, we expect to get some useful information from our online community very soon.